Accademic track

Academic GeoForAll Track (organised by ISPRS, OSGeo and ICA)


Following an established tradition, FOSS4G organizes an Academic Track which will run over the days of the Conference. FOSS4G invites original research contributions scientific papers dealing with Open Software, Open Hardware, Open Science, Open Data, Spatial Data Sharing Systems, Participatory Mapping and Internet of Things. All types of papers are welcome, such as on results achieved, case studies, work in progress, and demos. We discourage, however, mere presentations of technology or use cases without properly justifying originality against the scientific state of the art and without particular novelty.


The submission procedure is divided in two steps.

Step 1

At the first step authors are invited to submit abstracts written in English comprising 500-800 words and containing sufficient details for evaluation (including the approach, results, concepts, reasons why it should be considered and why it would be interesting for the audience).

The contributions are accepted on the abstract blind review process. Submitted abstracts will be refereed for quality, originality and relevance by the Scientific Committee. Authors will receive feedback and suggestions for improvement to their papers to be submitted in step two.

Step 2

If the abstract is accepted the authors are invited to submit the corresponding paper dealing with original and unpublished research.

The papers will be published in the Proceedings of the GeoForAll Track, which are “The International Archives of the Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing and Spatial Information Sciences”. Please pay attention that accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings provided at least one author is registered for the Conference before the early registration date. The Proceedings will be available at the first day of the Conference. All papers should be formatted as per ISPRS author’s guidelines. (download here the templates: odt, docx and pdf)


Abstract Submission deadline is 15 February 2018
Abstract acceptance notice is 15 March 2018
Early Bird Registration closes 15 May 2018
Camera ready paper for the Proceedings has to be submitted by 30 April 2018

After the Conference, selected papers will be invited to be extended for peer-review with possible publication in the following:

Please submit your abstract and your paper using the conference tool via the easychair website:


Maria Antonia Brovelli Politecnico di Milano Milan Italy
Ally Hassan Namangaya Ardhi University Dar es Salaam Tanzania

Scientific Committee

Hussein Abdulmuttalib DubaiMunicipality GIS Department Dubai UAE
Andy Anderson Amherst College Amherst USA
Paola Carrara IREA CNR Milan Italy
Marco Ciolli Dipartimento di Ingegneria Civile Ambientale e Meccanica, Università di Trento Trento Italy
Serena Coetzee University of Pretoria Pretoria South Africa
Margherita Di Leo European Commission, JRC Ispra Italy
Nimalika Fernando Curtin University Perth Australia
Aniruddha Ghosh University of California Davis USA
Lena Halounova CTU Prague Prague Czech Republic
Christian Heipke Leibniz Universitaet Hannover Hannover Germany
Ivana Ivanova Curtin University Perth Australia
Robbert Kiunsi Ardhi University Dar es Salaam Tanzania
Menno-Jan Kraak University of Twente Enschede the Netherlands
Simone Lanucara IREA CNR Milan Italy
Luciene Lazari Full Professor Curitiba Brazil
Songnian Li Ryerson University Toronto Canada
Peter Loewe German Institute for Economic Research – DIW Berlin Berlin Germany
Pierre-Philippe Mathieu ESA Frascati Italy
Marco Minghini Politecnico di Milano Milan Italy
Helena Mitasova North Carolina State University USA
Peter Mooney University or Research Center: Maynooth University Maynooth Ireland
Rafael Moreno-Sanchez University of Colorado Denver Denver USA
Elifuraha Mtalo University of Bagamoyo Dar es Salaam Tanzania
Hristo Nikolov Space research and technology institut Sofia Bulgaria
Daniele Oxoli Politecnico di Milano Milan Italy
Antoni Perez-Navarro Universitat Oberta de Catalunya Barcelona Spain
Andrea Podor Óbuda University Székesfehérvár Hungary
Kalum Priyanath Scientific Research Development Institute of Technology Australia Loganlea Australia
Venkatesh Raghavan Osaka City University Osaka Japan
Sven Schade EC-JRC Ispra Italy
Charlie Schweik University of Massachusetts Amherst USA
Richard Sliuzas ITC Netherlands Enschede Netherlands
Naa Tagoe University of Mines and Technology Tarkwa Ghana
Tuong-Thuy Vu Hoa Sen University HoChiMinh Vietnam
Mayra Zurbarán Universidad del Norte Barranquilla Colombia
Darshana Rawal Center for Advance Geomatics, CEPT University Ahmedabad India
Ana-Maria Raimond IGN, LASTIG Laboratory Saint-Mandé France
Paolo Corti Center for Geographic Analysis, Harvard University Cambridge, MA USA
Berk Anbaroglu Hacettepe University Ankara Turkey
Sultan Kocaman Hacettepe University Ankara Turkey
Anthonia Ijeoma Onyeahialam Department of Geography and Earth Sciences – Aberystwyth University Aberystwyth UK
Chris Stewart European Space Agency Frascati Italy